ESUG – Guidance for elections at Karlovac Meeting 24 April 2019

As you were notified on 10th October 2018, the European Sustainable Use Group (ESUG) will be holding its next General Meeting on 24th April 2019 at Aquatika, Branka Čavlovića Čavleka 1a, 47000, Karlovac, Croatia.

The **Provisional Agenda** has been circulated to you on 20 February 2019 and since updated on our website at http://esug.sycl.net/10/esug-general-meetings. As you are aware, one of the agenda items will be the **election of the Chair and the Committee**. For this purpose, we would like to provide you with some information on the election procedure, to invite you to consider nominating yourself or some other eligible person and to inform you of what is known of the position of those who have served as the Committee since we met in Brussels in May 2017.

Election of Chair and Committee

The General Meeting of ESUG – its supreme body - lays down policy guidelines and takes decisions *inter alia* on:

- the admission and removal of members,
- approval of the accounts,

and it also conducts the statutory elections for the Chair and Committee. According to Art. 13 of the ESUG Statutes, "the Committee is the body which manages the association. It prepares and implements the decisions of the General Meeting of Members. It implements the general policy guidelines and ensures liaison with the association's Members and the Working Groups. It takes all the association's management and administrative decisions as the need arises."

The Statutes provide for a Chair and a Committee of five elected members. Two further members may be co-opted. The Treasurer is appointed by the Committee from among their members.

At the last General Meeting in Brussels in May 2017 (see Minutes draft at http://esug.sycl.net/10/esug-general-meetings), the following members were elected:

Chair: Robert Kenward (UK)

Committee: David Scallan (Belgium)

Mari Ivask (Estonia) Zenon Tederko (Poland) Tetiana Gardashuk (Ukraine)

Julie Ewald (UK).

Following the meeting in May 2017, Despina Symons was co-opted to the Committee and there have been no resignations. Since May 2017, there have been three Committee Meetings.

Present Committee members have been asked to indicate their provisional willingness or otherwise to serve for a further term. So far we know that Julie Ewald is willing to take on the tasks of Chair, while David Scallan, Tetiana Gardashuk and Zenon Tederko are willing to serve a further period as Committee members. As new candidates for Committee, we also have a Frank Vorhies, Sándor Csányi and Viktor Šegrt.

It may be useful to indicate that the office of Chair is demanding of both time and energy, taking at least a day per week if actively assisted by delegated roles. Julie would have help from Nicholas Aebischer and from me too if she wishes. The Committee now tends to meet twice a year, partly by Skype, and otherwise there is on average at least one decision per month by email. Including meetings, the requirement may be about an hour a month from Committee Members. A regional balance on the Committee has always been considered desirable, and recruitment of members globally for the naturalliance network will expand this further.

Nominations

All places are open for election or re-election, with 6 candidates already for 5 positions on Committee. Members are urged again to consider nominating themselves or other Members for election. It is not necessary to be planning to attend the meeting in Karlovac to stand for election or to nominate someone. It is necessary to be at the meeting to vote.

In order to provide for a transparent election process, please feel free to send any further nominations for

- a. Chair
- b. one or more Committee Members

in writing to the following email address: reke@ceh.ac.uk, subject "Proposal for ESUSG Chair and Committee Elections". If you nominate someone else please ensure that there is clear evidence of their willingness to stand. All candidates, whether serving members or new nominations, are now asked to send me no more than 150 words about their suitability to serve and their hopes for ESUG during the coming period. These will be collated and shared before the election takes place.

Voting Procedure

Article 12 of the ESUG Statutes lays down the voting procedure at the GM that needs to be observed. "Decisions of the GM are reached by <u>simple majority</u> voting, the <u>quorum being one</u> <u>tenth of the Full Members</u>." It is, however, important to understand that Members have to be present at the GM in order to exercise their right to vote. "Each Full Member has one vote. Proxy voting is not permitted." In case the quorum cannot be met, there will be a postal procedure later.

All valid nominations that have reached the Nominations/Returning Officer in writing up to the time of the meeting will be presented to the GM for a vote. At present, some 20 members have registered to attend the meeting, which is twice the number required to be quorate.

Deadlines

Please kindly send in by email your nominations for election of ESUG Chair and Committee, with biographies of 100-150 words, by March 31st 2019.

Do not hesitate to contact me in case of any question or proposal you may have in connection to the upcoming election. I am looking forward to seeing you in Karlovac, if you are able to attend.

With best wishes,

Robert Kenward Nominations/Returning Officer 24th March 2019